Natalie Cole

Natalie Cole was an American solo artist who passed away on December 31, 2015. After listening to several artists, I found Cole’s “Orange Colored Sky” especially interesting. The song was released on 1991 from the album “Unforgettable with Love”.  The song was originally recorded by Nat King Cole, and it was latter done by his daughter Natalie.

“Orange Colored Sky” by Natalie Cole

“Orange Colored Sky”

I was walking along
mindin’ my business
when out of the orange colored sky

Flash

Bam

Ali-ca-zam

wonderful you came by

I was hummin’ a tune
drinkin’ in sunshine
when out of that orange colored view

Wham

Bam

Ali-ca-zam

I got’a look at you
one look an i yelled “timber”
watch out for flying glass

Cause the celing fell in
and the bottom fell out
I went in to a spin
and i started to shout
“I’ve been hit, this is it, this is it”

I was walking along
mindin’ my business
when love came and hit me in the eye

Flash

Bam

Ali-ca-zam
out of the orange colored sky

well, one look and i yelled “timber”
watch out for flying glass

Cause the celing fell in
and the bottom fell out
I went in to a spin
and i started to shout
“I’ve been hit, this is it, this is it”

I was walkin’ along
mindin’ my business
when love came and hit me in the eye

Flash

Bam

Ali-ca-zam
out of that orange colored purple striped pretty green pocadot sky

Flash

Bam

Ali-ca-zam
And Coloooooooooooooooored sky

My first impression of the song was that it is so overwhelmingly cheerful. From its title “Orange Colored Sky” to its lyrics that contained an explosion of colors, the entire piece is vibrating with happiness. I especially like the line “Out of that orange colored purple striped pretty green pocadot sky”. It provides a strangely innocent image of what falling in love would be like. I also enjoyed the fast, driving part starting from “Cause the ceiling fell in”.
Natalie’s singing fully captures the lightning-like feeling when love strikes out of nowhere. The song has a joyful and innocent quality to it, which is being lost in today’s popular music. It captures like a high speed camera the moment of love at first sight that lasted a couple of seconds. After listening to so many popular breakup and seductive songs, this piece is a wonderful change.
*Lyrics from A-Z Lyrics
Leave a Reply

